The Junk We Save

I don’t know about you, but I have a junk drawer.  Often it is filled to the brim with papers that need time to attend to and things that need to find their more permanent place in our home.  Other times items are in the drawer because I’m not ready to throw them out yet.

I was on a walk the other day and saw a pile of junk.  Trash parts from broken down bicycles.  It was interesting to me, since I am not a bike mechanic, that I couldn’t see the value in this collection of junk.

IMG_9839

And yet, you may notice there is a green wire connecting the pieces.  What I know about Vietnam is that there is someone that will be coming along to collect these parts and deliver them to where they have value.  Where they can be repurposed and be used well.

And isn’t that just like us?

 “But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” – Romans 5:8

While we were a pile of rubbish (dirty, broken, not in any way useful) God loved us enough to see the potential.  To pick us up and deliver us to a place where we can be repurposed (born into a new life).  Thank you Jesus!

 

Leave a Reply

